Ugandan Jazz maestro Isaiah Katumwa releases long awaited album This Is Me

Isaiah Katumwa is not your average African jazz artist with a saxophone, he brings more than his name and presence to the music sphere and as his fans can attest he is made for the horns.

For those that haven’t heard of the guy, this is a chance to know his craft.

After a somewhat long hiatus, the Ugandan master saxophonist has released a new album “This Is Me”. The musician’s 10th album was released in Los Angeles in the US. Katumwa admits that it hasn’t been an easy task for him to put together the album due to the aspect of time and resources but as an independent act, this and any effort he has put into the project is worth it.

The African smooth jazz ambassador’s latest work is an expression of his personal self, and also shows how much he has grown as an artist.

“This Is Me” is a 10-track album with titles in Swahili and English, the project opens with the song ‘Pamoja’ (together) and also includes a bonus track, ‘Special Feelings’.

1.    Pamoja
2.    Nakupenda
3.    Obasinga
4.    All Year Summer
5.    Mapenzi
6.    Amaaso
7.    This Is Me
8.    Special feelings
9.    What Is Love
10.    The visit
11.    Special Feelings(bonus track)

Katumwa is a self-taught saxophonist who despite a career that spans 20 years broke into the international scene about eight years ago; his successful release “Sinza” out in 2006, propelled him to the international circles. Katumwa has performed at various international stages alongside the likes of Jonathan Butler, Hugh Masekela, the late Miriam Makeba, Manu Dibangu, Jimmy Dludlu and Erikah Badu among others.

The artists officially launched his album tour in Nairobi, with performances in the Kenyan capital.

You can purchase “This Is Me” at itunes, CDbaby and Amazon the album is also available at Nakumatt Stores in his home country Uganda.

More info visit:

Well no need to wait for longer “This Is Me” is here

Amazon Banner